Florida Educational Driving School

State and county certified driving courses.

What happens if I receive too many points on my license?

Points are assessed for moving violations when found guilty, which can cause the loss or restriction of driving privileges. If too many points are accumulated during a certain period of time:

  • 12 points within 12 months
  • 18 points within 18 months
  • or 24 points within 36 months
Your license will be suspended.

Points assessed based on top 10 common violations are:

Point System By Violation
Moving Violations 3 points
Speeding 15 m.p.h or less over posted speed 3 points
Speeding more than 15 m.p.h. over posted speeds 4 points
Passing stopped school bus 4 points
Moving violation (non-speeding) resulting in an crash 4 points
Unlawful speed resulting in a crash 6 points
Reckless driving (criminal traffic violation) 4 points
Leaving scene of crash with damage 6 points
Littering 3 points
Violation of child restraint laws 3 points

If you are a driver between the ages of 15-17 Years of Age

Drivers with a Florida learner’s license must hold it for at least 12 months without receiving a traffic conviction before they can apply for a Florida Class E driver license. Drivers may avoid conviction by electing to complete a 4 Hour BDI course.

Any driver under the age of 18

Who accumulates 6 or more points within a 12 month period is automatically restricted to driving for “Business Purposes Only” for one year. If additional points are accumulated, the restriction is extended by 90 days for every additional point received.

Let’s Get Started!

Enroll For Online